Maynilad ‘water for the poor’ intiative has reached over 3M residents

More than 3 million Filipinos have been reached through the pro-poor initiative of West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad), which aims to provide sustainable water access to marginalized communities.

The “Water for the poor” campaign has become a component of the Maynilad’s effort to assist in achieving the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal on ensuring that all people have access to clean water and sanitation. In addition to programs known as “Samahang Tubig ng Maynilad” and “Pag-asa sa Tubig Partnership,” this initiative seeks to connect urban poor families to the network and organize marginalized communities into cooperatives that are capable of managing the water system in their respective areas.

According to a press release statement, Maynilad’s Customer Experience and Retail Operations head Christopher J. Lichauco said these communities no longer need to get their supply from unsanitary sources and illegal water retailers. 

“Not only does this improve their living conditions, it also helps to avert practices like illegally connecting to the pipe system, which can affect water pressure and supply availability,” he said.

Beneficiaries of the program also receive training in various vocations, and as a result, some of these communities are now able to provide for themselves by becoming certified producers of hygiene and cleaning materials. 

This is in accordance with Maynilad’s efforts to alleviate poverty and give access to water and sanitation for underprivileged communities through its Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (W.A.S.H.) initiatives such as P3 with assistance from non-governmental groups as ‘E&V Water and Life Philippines’ and ‘Tubig Pag-asa’.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.